72 Comments
Commenting has been turned off for this post

I am both a Creator and a Reader! I also signed up for Substack because of other newsletters I follow. I made the leap to start posting here (rather than use Mailchimp and the like) because of the addition of Notes. I'm so glad I did! My newsletter on writing and living a creative life can be found at: https://shanatargosz.substack.com/

Expand full comment

Hi Debbi, Love your work. I just joined Substack and it was great to find your newsletter. I am a middle grade graphic novel artist-author with an interest in animals, history, and fantasy worlds.

My substack: https://kristereideart.substack.com/

Expand full comment

What a great thread! I’m mainly here as a creator, but am discovering TONS of great newsletters to read! Love all the creativity, especially from the kidlit community! My newsletter is the Super Readers Club for picture book readers, their families, teachers & librarians. 😊📚❤️

Expand full comment

I've had my Substack for about a year. My newsletter is (mostly) monthly story/drawing prompts called "Somebody Write This Book!" So far it's featured arsonist turtles, ghost musicians, flower ballerinas, tooth fairies, nature-enthusiast robots, too many penguins, and a floating dog.

Here's the link: https://kirkreedstrom.substack.com/

Expand full comment
May 11, 2023Liked by Debbie Ridpath Ohi

I'm mostly here as a creator. I post fiction that I've written and usually illustrated, mainly science fiction and fantasy, usually aimed at younger readers. I just recently found out how to add PDFs to posts, so recently I started including booklet versions of my short stories for easy printing. I've also been serializing a children's fantasy novel, Faire Exchange, about an exchange student from Faerie who becomes the new class bully. I'm only a couple chapters from the end!

https://wordassociations.substack.com

https://wordassociations.substack.com/s/faire-exchange <-- the dedicated section for Faire Exchange

Expand full comment

Thanks, Debbie. I have been a reader first, because I wanted to read longer works by people I followed on Twitter. And recently thought about using substack as a way to just re-broadcast my newsletter (I still use a regular newsletter program, too, because I have a series of intro emails I use to bring readers into my system). But now that I've been here and seen all the aspects of Substack (like Notes) that seem to be working well, I'm moving towards this being more of a newsletter/"here's my ideas about the writing life" kind of space. https://arthurslade.substack.com/

Expand full comment
May 10, 2023Liked by Debbie Ridpath Ohi

Reader for now. We will see if it becomes any more than that.

Expand full comment
May 8, 2023Liked by Debbie Ridpath Ohi

starting as a writer!!

https://libraryofemotions.substack.com/

Expand full comment

Hello! I'm here as both a creator and reader, too. I've only been on Substack a few short months but am REALLY enjoying it. Thanks for asking the question and highlighting so many great newsletters through your comments here. xoxo Amy, posting about writing, kidlit, and things I love! https://amymakechnie.substack.com/

Expand full comment
May 8, 2023Liked by Debbie Ridpath Ohi

Both! I started substack as a creator to do a newsletter and share updates, behind-the-scenes, and things I've learned throughout my illustration career. My substack is https://cindysykang.substack.com/

I've been enjoying reading other substack articles too. Also, I love how you are building this great community here, Debbie!

Expand full comment
May 8, 2023Liked by Debbie Ridpath Ohi

Hello and welcome! I have always loved writing and found this space to be open-ended and welcoming. I write articles about antiracism and environmentism here: https://open.substack.com/pub/breakingwhitesilence?utm_source=share&utm_medium=android I also gave a podcast called Reset Teaching, only inclusive education (feeling very creative at the mo!)

Expand full comment
May 8, 2023Liked by Debbie Ridpath Ohi

I started a stack at the end of 2021, but wasn't really sure how to navigate this platform, so am mainly a reader. Notes, though, has revived my interest and I'm dipping my toes back in. https://andwewalk.substack.com/

I've been enjoying your jump onto Notes because you're asking the questions that I have but wasn't sure where to ask!

Expand full comment
May 7, 2023Liked by Debbie Ridpath Ohi

I am just here as a reader...for now. : )

Expand full comment
May 7, 2023·edited May 7, 2023Liked by Debbie Ridpath Ohi

Both! Started as a creator and then rapidly became a reader!

https://devotaj.substack.com

Expand full comment

Both. Throughout my creative life, I have sought a place to not only share my thoughts and fiction, but to have a place to meet and talk with other creative and compassionate people. I found it for a brief period in the early days of Twitter, Google+, and a couple of other small social networks that flared out fast. I found Substack last year when I was looking for a new home for my serialized fiction and other posts. Now, with the advent of Notes, I feel like this is a great creative home to build community and meet people. I have had so many great conversations here.

https://www.projectshadow.com/

Expand full comment
May 7, 2023Liked by Debbie Ridpath Ohi

As of now, I’m here as a reader!

Expand full comment

I just realized that more writers/creators are heading over here, so I just created a login. I have a blog on Wordpress (since 2012) that I'm not ready to give up, so I think I'll try to do some linking between Wordpress and Substack to see how things go. I never really got the knack of POST... and now I see that Twitter and Substack haven't been playing nicely in the sandbox together, so instead of being able to embed a Tweet, I had to do a screenshot. Not sure about the difference between CHAT and NOTES.

https://jilannehoffmann.substack.com/p/haiku-saturday-on-twitter

Expand full comment
May 6, 2023Liked by Debbie Ridpath Ohi

I’m both creator and reader! I read a few newsletters here, then became inspired to start writing for myself, so I did! I write Some Other Dad, which is about the challenges and issues affecting modern parents of young kids, from a dad’s perspective. I’ve met some really great people since starting a month ago - if you’re a parent then come join us :)

https://someotherdad.substack.com

Expand full comment
May 6, 2023Liked by Debbie Ridpath Ohi

I’ve been thinking about a newsletter for a long time, but then several friends moved their e-newsletters from other spaces to here. So initially I was here as a reader.

But then one pointed out how blog-like Substack was, and I was intrigued by the possibility of being able to gather multiple friends’ updates in one place, stay connected to and chat with them, and possibly post my own thoughts here, so here I am as a creator as well.

https://diandramae.substack.com

I’m still figuring out my approach to my Substack, but I definitely appreciate the ability to stay cozily connected with creative friends without being inundated with the noise found everywhere else.

Expand full comment

Hi, I'm a creator and a reader. I joined Substack because 3 of the writers I was following shifted here. Then, as I was wondering about sending out a newsletter and how I would do it, I investigated further and discovered I had finally found a place where real discussions take place and writers abound. I'll admit, what clinched it was when I saw that you, Debbie, were starting a newsletter here. I've followed you off and on at different places and always enjoyed your creations. Your first post spurred me to set up my newsletter and start posting. Thanks for showing up in my path again!

https://robinjminnick.substack.com

Expand full comment

I’m a creator an reader :)

Expand full comment
May 6, 2023Liked by Debbie Ridpath Ohi

This is a great thread! I illustrate all my poems I wrote last year over at typaphobe. Looking forward to diving all the way in to this thread when I'm done delivering mail. Hope you all are well!

https://fosterious.substack.com

Expand full comment

I started out here as mainly an artist looking for decent platform to release all my various creations on different media, but over time I've come to absolutely love the variety of excellent writing and art found here from others. (which is also quickly filling my email in box every month, but hey, that's a small price to pay for such amazing content.)

https://www.erflynncomics.com

Expand full comment

Like other comments shared here, I appreciate the interface of this platform as both a creator and reader of content (https://sadnewsletter.substack.com/). While I'm not entirely certain how to utilise Notes feature, I do enjoy its social networking aspect. As a creator and reader, what ultimately draws me to this platform is the potential for engagement with newsletter content and community. The long-form, in-depth content is definitely a plus for me.

Expand full comment
May 6, 2023Liked by Debbie Ridpath Ohi

I moved to substack because I like the interface and it’s easy to use (as a creator— https://skylaar.substack.com/) but I also like it as a reader for the same reasons!

It feels lower stakes than a traditional newsletter too, with the options to post without notifying your list, sharing a Note, etc. it’s a nice mix of newsletter with a bit of social media feel. I’m looking forward to posting short and long form stuff as I go—like quick illustrations or whatever along with longer messages

Expand full comment

I was happy to see you moved to Substack! I started a blog on Substack a couple of months ago & have found it to be very easy to use. I use it mainly as a Creator but also read a few other accounts as well.

My blog is Paula Borchardt ~ Visual Storyteller at https://paulaborchardt.substack.com/. I love to combine my art with my words to tell stories and my favorite subject matter is natural history.

Expand full comment

Both creator and reader Debbie, and I imported twenty years of archives from blogger

Expand full comment
May 6, 2023·edited May 6, 2023Liked by Debbie Ridpath Ohi

Here as a reader and a creator (cross posting posts from my wordpress blog). I'm currently using both Post and Substack...but that's not sustainable in the long term. We'll see how things pan out in a month when I will need to make a tough choice.

Expand full comment
May 6, 2023Liked by Debbie Ridpath Ohi

Reader and creator here! I write and draw for young readers. I had been planning a Patreon to share behind the scenes stuff but then a friend told me to check out Substack and I liked how social and easy to use it was. From being here, i've really enjoyed all the articles I find and i end up spending tons of time just reading.

Expand full comment

I signed up after seeing it mentioned a few times by people that I follow on Instagram. I’ve been writing on here for a little while now and in the last few weeks have got a bit addicted since notes was introduced 😂 I write ‘While I Was Drawing’,sharing my drawings, my words and my musings. Things I’ve lived and loved and learned in life, as an illustrator and accountant! https://thomkatpictures.substack.com/?utm_source=substack&utm_medium=web&utm_campaign=substack_profile

Expand full comment
May 6, 2023Liked by Debbie Ridpath Ohi

I’m a creator and reader here! My newsletter Anxious Dude (https://scottneumyer.substack.com/) is about mental health and awesome people. 😁 Been a big fan of your work for a long time.

Expand full comment

Well I saw a video from Ali Abdaal about Newsletter and thought I would give it a go. But started at Revue until they shut down.

So I'm also a creator, but like finding other like minded artists on here :)

Expand full comment
deletedMay 7, 2023Liked by Debbie Ridpath Ohi
Comment deleted
Expand full comment
deletedMay 6, 2023Liked by Debbie Ridpath Ohi
Comment deleted
Expand full comment